The Post Truth Post

Grayling awarded Order of the Wooden Spoon

The Order of the Wooden Spoon

Theresa May has awarded Chris Grayling the Order of the Wooden Spoon in her resignation honours list.

Mr Grayling served as Secretary of State for Transport during May’s term as prime minister and is best known for awarding a cross channel ferry contract to Seaborne Freight, a firm that owned no ships.

The honours list, which has faced criticism in some quarters, was drafted on Mrs May’s behalf by former aide Sir Nick Southfield.

“Chris tried really really hard, so we wanted to give him something for effort,” Sir Nick said.

“Despite being a member of the ERG Chris loyally supported the prime minister, who can forget the time he made the Cabinet pancakes.

“As minister for transport, Chris was ambitious and never afraid to spend taxpayers money on bold infrastructure projects or use creativity to solve difficult international problems.

“So I recommended to the former PM that she decorate him with the high honour of the Order of the Wooden Spoon.” 

The Order of the Wooden Spoon was first awarded to Captain Archibald Raab in 1608 after he scuppered the entire British navy by confusing a small brook in Hertfordshire for the English Channel.


About Us